Assignment One – Workflow – Response to Tutor Feedback

This post is my response to the tutor feedback for my first assignment for Digital Photographic Practice, Workflow. It does not show the report in full but merely addresses the salient points put forward by my tutor.

Feedback on assignment
“You decided to shoot them all in the same way, creating what could be called a rudimentary ‘typology’ of ‘stickered drainpipes’ in a particular time and place. I do have a question about whether the images are ‘new’ in any way. Is there anything improbable, unexpected, informative here, or would these images fit a little too comfortably into our saturated image environment?”

In the context of my environment these images are a little unusual. Singapore is notoriously fastidious about cleanliness and streets are normally immaculately kept. So, to find a whole street with stickers pasted everywhere is very unusual. It is not by accident that these stickers are left here. In other parts of the City they would have been cleaned away as a blight on public property. But here (and only here) they are allowed to remain. I think it is felt by the ‘powers that be’ that this is a ‘cool’ place which the hipsters frequent (which indeed they do) and as a result have decided to give the place it’s own identity by allowing this. It is quite a bold statement in light of the prosecution of someone caught pasting stickers in another area of town (these were not political or religious stickers ‘merely’ social comment and actually very funny). So culturally, yes, they are unexpected and quite improbable. However, I make no mention of the above in my assignment and was concentrating on the image alone rather than the social and cultural connotations of what I had taken. This has been duly noted.

Workflow
“Probably your workflow is too complex, but your notes are too simple. I would expect more information with each step than you have provided. I want to know your thinking with each step. Rather than deconstruct each step in your workflow….”

I entirely agree with this observation. I had way too many separate points in my workflow (which inherently makes it more difficult to follow both in the field and back at the computer). So I need to cut down the structure and add more detailed information to each step instead.

Reviewing images on site and deleting in camera
“I suggest you do not delete images in camera unless you run out of cards.” 

When I first read this I was absolutely sure I had read in the course notes that during review of the images in the field it was advised that I could delete images that were clearly wrong. Having read back through the notes I cannot imagine where I got that information. This is certainly not a practice I have indulged in before and haven’t since the particular exercise that it would appear I have completely misread! Note to self, read the exercises properly!

Backing Up
“Make sure you have a good back up strategy.”

My paranoia of data loss means that I always back up not only my images but also all my other work too. Files are never deleted from my card until I have back up in two separate locations. The second of those locations is an automated option, which continually reviews and backs-up as necessary. I also use Dropbox as a triple back-up option.

Rating on the computer
“Rate them, then go back and do it again. Finally have somebody else look at the shots. They will show you something new every single time.”

Rating and editing (from a selection process point of view) is one of my weaker areas. I may be too emotionally attached to my images to make a good and objective editorial decision. The suggestion by my tutor to have someone else review my images after my initial assessment is a good one.

Learning Logs 
“As your blog is fairly large and contains TAOP as well as DPP, could you please include weblinks for blog pages that you would like me to look at with future assignments, which will save me considerable time.”

My Blog is tagged and categorised for both course and essay type. This means the courses can be reduced to their component parts for ease of reading and evaluation. Unfortunately this obviously isn’t clear enough on the blog so will to figure out how to make it clearer to the reader. It may just need moving closer to the top of the sidebar so it can be seen from the home page more easily.

“Start to include a depth of notes with each part of the course and especially the assignments.”

My notes need more technical and critical self-appraisal for me to be able to go back and re-appraise in the future. At the moment I would only be able to go back and review the photographs without any real written appraisal of what I was thinking and doing (technically and otherwise) at the time.

Overall this is a pleasing first review of work with plenty to be taken in to account. In similar fashion to my response for TAoP, I need to take more time over my image making, both at the time of the shot and again in edit. I have a tendency to rush as I see the end of a project nearing. This review will give me the tools I need to move forward in to the next part of the course.

2 thoughts on “Assignment One – Workflow – Response to Tutor Feedback

  1. I found the comment from your tutor about not deleting images interesting. I used to be quite particular about not deleting images in camera and only waiting to see them on the screen before I made any decision. I have now changed that, I don;t want to spend time downloading and reviewing photos that are out of focus, blurred, poorly composed, clearly better shots in the sequence. I feel that if it is obviously not right and I have time during the shoot, I delete in camera. It would be interesting to know why he made the comment.
    Chris

    • Interestingly I would have said the same thing until the other day. The tutor’s reasoning was that you never know what direction you might take with a project at a later date and therefore it’s safer to have all the images to hand and not delete them from the camera in the field. I went out to take photographs of the Thaipusam celebration here in Singapore (you can find the photos here on my FB Page). I realised at the time that my lens wasn’t focussing quickly enough in the sometimes low-light conditions which of course meant the resulting images were blurred. But as I had composed well, when I looked at the image at home I realised it represented the colours of the festival very well and didn’t need to be in focus and have indeed used the image.
      Cheers,
      Paul

Leave a Reply

