Positioning a Point

To start the second part of The Art of Photography I was asked to look at positioning a point within the frame of a photograph. I could draw on previous exercises from the first part of this module to further concentrate on the position of the point I had chosen to focus upon. I used three images to demonstrate three different positioning of points. The three basic ‘rules’ of positioning are; – in the middle, a little off-centre and close to the edge.

I show the images below and comment on the positioning accordingly. As per my previous post I will be presenting all my photographs in black and white during this part of The Art of Photography.

Balinese TV

This TV stood out like a sore thumb within its surroundings. I have placed it towards the edge of the frame as it still clearly draws the eye away from all the other detail in the image. It turns the image from a mundane one in to one with an interesting new dynamic.

 

Thai Sunset

I deliberately placed the boat between me and the setting sun to create a silhouette. It is just off centre and about a third of the frame down from the top. I used the position of horizon to give a sense of the imposing amount of water the boat is set within. The boat is set in front of a distant island, which maybe it is trying to reach before sunset. The darkness on either side of the image pushes the eye up and towards the centre of the image which is of course very light.

 

Bali surfer

I placed the surfer at a third of the frame from the right and quite low down. This shows the viewer where he has been and where he is heading. Again the horizon plays a significant part by imposing the notion that the surfer is very insignificant in comparison to the immense expanse of water around him.

A side note to this this exercise is that I noticed whilst finding these images to use that I am heavily biased to placing the point of interest on the right side of the frame. It is not something that I was conscious of before and will try to address it in the future as I could sub-consciously be missing photographic opportunities by doing this.

One thought on “Positioning a Point

  1. Have just read your side note! I, too, am biased to the right side of an image – it may be something to do with the way we read from left to right? It seems quite natural to find the eye moving in that direction to the interesting point. I do take your point, though, about missing opportunities!

Leave a Reply

