Multiple Points

The aim here was to show the interaction between multiple points within a frame. This was to be a simple still life exercise in which I selected several objects and arranged them in to a pleasing but not boring group that hangs together in an attractive way. After finding a grouping that looked good I needed to find the network of implied lines that brings the shape or group together. I placed the objects in to a grouping several times to gain different shapes and patterns. As I progressed I found myself placing the objects much more consciously and deliberately until I ended up with a pleasing group of six objects. It was noticeable that the harder I tried not to make a regular shape the harder it became not to. I also felt that my final ‘lines’ of interaction were heavily influenced by the order with which I had placed and photographed them. It would be perfectly plausible for someone who hadn’t seen this sequence to see a completely different pattern in the final image. This is obviously what I would need to look at when addressing the subject in my frame. Don’t just look at the first most obvious pattern but take time to find other, less obvious patterns too. After I took my final image I added the lines of influence that I could perceive within the frame.

The images below are shown in order of placement with the last image showing the network of lines each object produced in relation to each other.

One boat

One boat

Two boats

Two boats

Three boats

Three boats

Four boats

Four boats

Five boats

Five boats

Six boats - final image

Six boats – final image

Line indication for final image

Line indication for final image

I find it interesting to note that although the backdrop was very roughly laid out it also adds to the rhythm and lines of the image. The creases and pockets in the backdrop naturally influence the lines the paper boats take although this was not the intention.

Leave a Reply

