Horizontal and Vertical lines

A relatively quick exercise that I did in conjunction with the next two exercises (Diagonals and Curves) as they all fitted very nicely together. I found it helped me concentrate on the different lines that I wanted to find by combining the exercises. I did take the images in order to begin with but the more photos I took the more opportunities I saw so just went with the flow.

The object here was to find 4 horizontal lines and 4 vertical lines to photograph. The lines could either be physical  or implied i.e. a row of trees or similar that aren’t physically horizontal but give the impression of being so. Once I had photographed a certain type of feature (i.e a building or plant), I needed to make sure I didn’t repeat it. This made me look all the harder for the features I wanted.

Although an easy exercise on paper, once I started it became more difficult as I looked harder and harder for more lines to photograph. It becomes a slightly obsessive exercise after a while and all I could see were lines everywhere I looked. Interestingly the horizontal lines were initially easier to find with the eye and camera. This references nicely back to the ‘vertical and horizontal frames’ exercise from Part one of TAoP, the eye naturally picking up the horizontal features in the frame. After a while though, the vertical lines become more prominent and I was able to pick out more satisfactory images. Here are the final eight. The four horizontal images first and verticals second.

Horizontal 1

Horizontal 1

Horizontal 2

Horizontal 2

Horizontal 3

Horizontal 3

Horizontal 4

Horizontal 4

Vertical 1

Vertical 1

Vertical 2

Vertical 2

Vertical 3

Vertical 3

Vertical 4

Vertical 4

I realised that the urban environment in which I live is awash with horizontal and vertical lines that are all man made. I needed to work hard to see past the obvious lines and concentrate on seeing the less obvious. I notice that the horizontal lines I have taken are by-and-large man-made but the verticals are largely natural.

It is worth noting that generally the photographs were taken in the horizontal or vertical format according to how they are perceived. The exceptions being the shot of the pond with the fence and the market stall selling durian fruit. It is also interesting to note that whilst trying to get purely horizontal or vertical lines in my frame it was very difficult to do so without also having the opposing lines (as well as diagonals and curves) making an appearance. This is not coincidental and is a key part of the design element of this part of the module. I will expand on it later in the project.

7 thoughts on “Horizontal and Vertical lines

  1. Pingback: Diagonals | BA Blog
  2. Pingback: Rhythm and Pattern | BA Blog
  3. Pingback: Black and White | BA Blog

Leave a Reply

