An Organised Event – The Color Run

So, as previously picked up on in my preamble to this part of the module, the next two exercises for this project will require a narrative to be formed around the photo taking. This will help me to start considering the next phase of the course, which is ‘place’ and its relationship with people. What I needed here was an organised event where people could be photographed freely and with some variety. I had read ahead in the course notes and realised, as luck would have it, that the inaugural Singapore running of The Color Run was to take place in the near future. This seemed to fit the brief perfectly so I took myself down there to shoot. I had to bear in mind that I was shooting not just for myself (as this is the kind of event I would gravitate to anyway) but also for the exercise. This meant that I was looking to take photographs of people unaware. One of the things that this type of event lends itself to is interaction with the masses, which is great fun and gets some great results, but here I had to be mindful of my objective; be unobtrusive, inconspicuous, blend in with the background. Fortunately this wasn’t a problem as, as well as the masses of participants (over 8000) there was a fair amount of media interest too. This meant that I would have stood out more without a camera than with one! My aim here is to describe the event without the need for too many words. It is fairly clear what is going on here; 8000 people turn up with clean white shorts and t-shirts and go home covered in paint with a 5km ‘run’ and lots of fun in between. The Color Run’s strap line is ‘The Happiest 5k on the Planet’. You get the idea. Feed back on this exercise would be valuable as I think there are too many photographs, but I’m no editor! I was using a mixture of lenses from 26mm-315mm efl.

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

Leave a Reply

