A Public Space

In the final exercise before assignment two of People and Place, I needed to find a public space that I could photograph to show how people use space in different ways, even though they may be in close proximity to each other. I chose to use my local park as my public space as this provided good opportunities to photograph people (unaware) running through a variety of activities in the same area. East Coast Park is one of the major park areas in Singapore and as such is quite expansive (around 15km in length), so I decided to centre my photography around the static line water-ski lake.

All of the following photographs were taken within around a 400-500 square meter section of the park. It is fascinating to see how people make use of the areas at their disposal within what, in a park this size, is quite a limited area that I have chosen to cover. I will let the images do the talking as they are fairly self explanatory.

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

Leave a Reply

