Travel Photography

I like this quote by Zygmunt Bauman that I saw at a recent exhibition I went to view:

“One thing which even the most seasoned and discerning masters of the art of choice do not and cannot choose, is the society to be born into – and so we are all in travel, whether we like it or not.”

It sums up my current thoughts about travel photography. Before I moved to Singapore I thought it was obvious what travel photography was (having never lived outside the UK before). You travel somewhere and any photos you take become travel photography. Simple! Now, living in Singapore, I’m still taking ‘travel’ photographs, a little less transient than a holiday maybe but, in essence, still travel photography, as it will be if and when I move back to the UK. So when I see ‘travel photography’ competitions now, I get a little confused. Surely everything is travel photography, isn’t it?